## SECTION 4. BOARDS, COMMISSIONS, COUNCILS AND COMMITTEES

## 4.12 SEMINOLE COUNTY FLOODPLAIN MANAGEMENT PLANNING COMMITTEE

A. **PURPOSE.** Pursuant to the requirements of the National Flood Insurance Program's Community Rating System, the Committee will provide assistance in the development of the floodplain management plan through assessment of the flooding problems in the County. The Seminole County Floodplain Management Planning Committee will assist in the development of goals that address the identified flood hazards and in the creation of various mitigation strategies that will be implemented to reduce damage to insurable structures and help protect lives, which will also reduce the cost of flood insurance to County residents.

**B. DUTIES/RESPONSIBILITIES.** The Seminole County Floodplain Management Planning Committee will meet and fulfill the obligations of the Community Rating System Program floodplain management planning requirements.

## C. MEMBERSHIP STRUCTURE.

(1) Requirements. The Seminole County Floodplain Management Planning Committee shall have fourteen (14) members consisting of representatives of the groups listed below:

(a) One (1) employee\_of the Planning and Development Division of the Development Services Department, to be appointed by the Development Services Department Director.

(b) One (1) employee of the Building Division of the Development Services Department, to be appointed by the Development Services Department Director.

(c) Five (5) interested non-County employee citizens of Seminole County, to be appointed by the County Commissioners representing each district. For the purposes of this Section 4.12, "interested citizens" include floodplain residents, the owners or managers of floodprone properties, business leaders, members of civic groups, farmers, landowners, developers, and employees of government agencies other than the County.

(d) Two (2) employees from the Office of Emergency Management, to be appointed by the Director of Emergency Management. These two (2) individuals shall serve as Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee, with the Director to designate which employee shall serve in each position.

(e) Two (2) interested citizens from the Seminole County Long Term Recovery Committee and/or Seminole County Resiliency Working Group.

(f) One (1) employee of the Roads/Stormwater Division of the County Public Works Department, to be appointed by the Public Works Department Director.

(g) One (1) employee of the Engineering Division of the County Public Works Department, to be appointed by the Public Works Department Director.

(h) One (1) employee from the Development Review Engineering Division of the County Public Works Department, to be appointed by the Public Works Department Director.

(2) Committee meetings shall take place once monthly at the start of the rewrite period, every five (5) years beginning in October 2010.

(3) The Office of Emergency Management shall provide administrative support to the Committee and shall serve as the Committee's liaison to the Seminole County Board of County Commissioners.

(4) Upon appointment, members of the Committee shall serve until completion of the County's Floodplain Management Plan or one year, whichever is less. Upon adoption of the Floodplain Management Plan by the Board of County Commissioners, this Committee shall dissolve, its purpose having been fulfilled and completed.

(5) At all times interested citizens shall constitute a minimum of fifty percent (50%) of the Committee's membership, and shall be replaced as necessary by Department Directors.

## D. LEGAL ISSUES.

(1) Financial Disclosure is not required to serve on the Seminole County Floodplain Management Planning Committee.

(2) The Loyalty Oath is not required of representatives on the Seminole County Floodplain Management Planning Committee.

(3) Sunshine and Public Records laws apply to the meetings and records of the Seminole County Floodplain Management Planning Committee.

(4) Membership on the Committee does not constitute an office for purposes of constitutional prohibition on dual office holding.

E. AUTHORITY. Resolution 2010-R-202 adopted September 28, 2010 Resolution 2012-R-107 adopted June 12, 2012 Resolution 2020-R-03 adopted January 14, 2020 Resolution 2025-R-14 adopted February 25, 2025