Seminole County Public Library

Your Library, Your Card

Your library card gives you full access to the resources of the Seminole County Public Library. You can check out, renew, and request materials from other branches. You can use Library Internet Access Computers, book meeting rooms, access Library premium databases, and get the information you need 24/7!

Present your library card for all transactions!

Get the Card!

Seminole County residents are eligible for a free Seminole County Public Library card if:

- They reside permanently or own property in Seminole County
- They are enrolled in a Seminole County Public School
- They are employed by Seminole County Government

Adults (18 years or over) must present a valid Florida Driver's License or State ID with name and proof of Seminole County residency at time of application. Card holder is responsible for all overdue fines, fees, lost, or damaged materials on the library card. Signature indicates acceptance of responsibility.

Children/Minors (Birth to 17 years) must be present with the parent/legal guardian at the time a library card is issued. The parent must present a valid Florida Driver's License or State ID with name, together with proof of Seminole County residency at time of application. The parent's library account must have a (\$0.00) balance, or fines and fees must be paid before a library card will be issued for the child/minor. Parent/Legal Guardian of a child/minor is responsible for all overdue fines, fees, lost, or damaged materials on the child/minor's library card. Signature indicates acceptance of responsibility.

Additional types of identification accepted for proof of residency:

- Telephone or utility bill
- Florida vehicle registration
- Bank checkbook
- Business mail
- Lease or Mortgage
- Valid Seminole County Public School ID or Report Card
- Voters Registration Card

Reciprocal, Non-Resident, Corporate and Guest Cards

Reciprocal Borrowers

Lake County library card holders can get a free Seminole County Library card by presenting their county library card and valid ID. Reciprocal library cards expire 1 year from date of issue. Reciprocal borrowers may check out material over the counter at all 5 branch Seminole County branches. Reserves, special delivery, DVD's, eBooks, and computer Internet access are not offered.

• Non-Resident Borrowers

Other non-residents with valid ID may purchase a library card for \$50.00 per year. Non-Resident cards expire 1 year from date of issue and include reserves, special delivery between branches, DVD's, eBooks, and computer Internet access.

Corporate Borrowers

Library cards may be issued to corporate entities located in Seminole County. Cards must be personally guaranteed by the owner or manager of the entity.

Guest Cards

Internet access for guests is available for \$1.00 per 45 minute access.

Check Out!

Present your library card to check out materials at the self-checkout machines or with staff at any location.

- Each library card may have a total of 25 items checked out. (First checkout limited to 3 items)
- Library card must be presented to check out materials. You must have a zero balance on your library account to use computers and to check out materials.
- Library cards expire 3 years from the date of issue.
- Notify the library immediately if your library card is lost or stolen. Lost cards can be replaced for \$2.00.
- Three week checkout on most items and a 14 day checkout for high demand titles.
- Items without reserves may be renewed a maximum of 3 times.
- DVD's may be checked out by adults only. A maximum of two (2) DVD's may be checked out to one card for seven (7) days with no renewals.
- Fines are assessed at \$0.20 per item per day with a maximum fine of \$10.00 per item. You can always avoid fines by returning or renewing items by the due date.
- Materials may be returned to any branch library. Outside book drops are available at every location.
- The Seminole County Public Library System's registration records are considered confidential information pursuant to Florida Statute 257.261. A library cardholder can request that a named person or persons be granted access to the cardholder's confidential library record information. This request is made by filling out the library's "Permission to Use Library Card" form. The named person or persons will be authorized to check out library materials, pick up holds, and check the status of items on the record.