SEMINOLE COUNTY GOVERNMENT
Florida's Natural Choice
 .
Print Screen RSS Feeds
Contact Us
CONTACT INFORMATION

Administration Office
150 Bush Blvd.
Sanford, FL 32773
 
 
Animal Services
Phone: (407) 665-5201


Adult Probation
Phone: (407) 665-4603


County Addressing
Phone: (407) 665-5045


E-911 Administration
Phone: (407) 665-5911


Emergency Communications 
24 Hour Non Emergency Line
Phone: (407) 665-5100


Emergency Management
Phone: (407) 665-5102


EMS/Fire/Rescue
Administration Office
Phone: (407) 665-5175


Public Safety Director
Phone: (407) 665-5000
 




Public Safety


Emergency Medical Services

See Also: Education - Enforcement - Engineering

Jump to:  Mock DUI Program, Pedestrian/Bike Safety, Hyperthermia Risks for Children

MOCK DUI PROGRAM

Don't Drink and Drive!The Seminole County Mock DUI program has been presented to every Seminole County  public high schools and two (2) private schools. The mock crash scene goes through each step of how law enforcement, emergency medical technicians, fire rescue, ambulance and helicopter rescue technicians combine their efforts to save victims lives when an actual crash occurs. Seminole County Traffic Engineering figures for 2011 show that Seminole County had 46 traffic fatalities of which 7 were alcohol related. 2010 State Department of Transportation figures show there were 1465 alcohol related traffic crashes in Florida involving drinking resident drivers who were 21 and younger. Of those crashes, 61 resulted in death. The purpose of the Mock DUI program is to educate younger drivers of the possible ramifications and potential dangers related to drinking and driving. This program is being presented to junior and senior classes on a bi-annual basis.

The Mock DUI schedule for the current school year is:

  • March 1, 2013 - Lake Mary High School, Time TBD 
  • April 9, 2013 - Winter Springs High, Time TBD

MOCK THIS: Teens, D.U.I., and Brain Injury
 Click here to download this presentation (12MB) by the Brain Injury Association of Florida, Inc.

MOCK DUI PROGRAM
(click on a photo to see a larger version)
       

 

Slideshow View these photos as a slideshow.

 
PEDESTRIAN/BIKE SAFETY   


As a pedestrian, do you know how to “activate” a crosswalk so motorists know you want to use it? As a driver, do you know when you must yield the right of way to a pedestrian?  In Seminole County, the fine for a driver who does not yield for a pedestrian in a crosswalk is $166 and three points against their license.  If a pedestrian fails to use a provided crosswalk, the fine is $64.50

A recent unscientific observation was conducted at a busy Seminole County intersection of pedestrian, motorists, and, to a lesser extent, cyclists’ behavior while crossing near the crosswalk location. Seventy-one pedestrians crossed near the location of the proposed demonstration project. A total of 27% of the pedestrians used the entire crosswalk to cross; 8% used some part of the crosswalk; and 65 percent did not use the crosswalk.  Seminole County Traffic Engineering figures indicate there were 17 pedestrian/bike deaths in 2011.  Of those, 10 did not utilize available crosswalks and 7 were related to other circumstances.   

According to research by MetroPlan, which sets transportation policy in Orange, Seminole and Osceola counties, drivers need to learn to share the road and slow down, while pedestrians have to be more careful and not dart out into traffic, the most common cause of fatalities.   

What is the law? 

 

HYPERTHERMIA RISKS FOR CHILDREN

In the United States, an average of 38 children die of Hyperthermia after being left alone in a vehicle.  According to the Department of Geosicences at the San Fransisco State University, since 1998, there has been a staggering 550 children who have lost there lives, in the United States, after being left in a vehicle.  There have been 23 such deaths to date for 2012 and a total of 33 deaths for 2011.  Vehicles heat up quickly - even with a window rolled down two inches, if the outside temperature is in the low 80s° Fahrenheit, the temperature inside a vehicle can reach deadly levels in only 10 minutes.  Even cool temperatures in the 60s can cause the temperature to rise well above 110° Fahrenheit inside your car. The inside temperature can rise almost 20 degrees within the first 10 minutes.  Children's bodies overheat easily, with infants and children under four years of age are among those at greatest risk for heat-related illness.  Children's bodies absorb more heat on a hot day than an adult and children are less able to lower their body heat by sweating. When a body cannot sweat enough, the body temperature rises rapidly.  In fact, Safe Kids USA indicates, when left in a hot vehicle, a young child's body temperature may increase three to five times as fast an adult. High body temperatures can cause permanent injury or even death.  

Never leave infants or children in a parked vehicle, even if the windows are partially open.  If you see a child alone in a hot vehicle, call 911 or your local emergency number immediately.  If the child is in distress due to heat, get him/her out as quickly as possible and cool the child rapidly.  

Where's BabySymptoms of heatstroke: Warning signs vary but may include: red, hot, and moist or dry skin, no sweating, a strong rapid pulse or a slow weak pulse, a throbbing headache, dizziness, nausea, confusion, being grouchy, or acting strangely. 

Prevention Tips:  Never leave a child alone in a vehicle. Check to make sure all children exit the vehicle when you reach your destination.  Lock the doors when your vehicle is parked. Teach children that cars are not places to play.  Give yourself a reminder by placing your purse, briefcase or other important items in the backseat next to your child’s car seat to help you remember to look in the back before leaving the car.  Set a reminder on your cell phone or other mobile device to remind you to drop off children at school or daycare when routines change.  Make an agreement with your child’s school or daycare that you will be notified if your child is not dropped off at the normal time.  Check vehicles and trunks first if a child goes missing.