MUSEUM OF SEMINOLE COUNTY HISTORY HISTORICAL COMMISSION June 18, 2009 Meeting Minutes

Members Present: John Bistline, Rosalie Cook, Alex Dickison, Don Epps, Ed L'Heureux, Robert Hughes, Jan Jernigan, Beverly Mason, John Richardson and Paul Zuromski.

Members Absent: Jon Batman, Lillian Griffin, Ettie-Jane Keogh, Eunice Mann and Cecil Tucker.

Staff Present: Kim Nelson, Julia Thompson, Joe Abel and Kathi Clifford.

Guests Present: Brian Walker from the Seminole County Employee Academy.

Location: Museum of Seminole County History 300 Bush Blvd. Sanford, FL 32773

Don Epps called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m. There is **a quorum** in attendance.

Opening Ceremonies:

- Pledge of Allegiance
- Invocation.

Don Epps asked if there are any additions or deletions to the May meeting minutes. John Bistline made a motion to **approve the minutes** as presented. Rosalie Cook seconded the motion. The **motion passed** unanimously.

Old Business:

Historical Markers:

<u>Wagner</u>: Tentative dedication is August 15^{th} or 22^{nd} .

Casselberry: Marker dedication is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. July 25th at City Hall.

Oral History Project:

Ms. Thompson gave a brief update on the Oral History Project in Jon Batman's absence. **Sanford Herald Digitizing Project:**

Mr. Abel advised that there really is nothing to report only that the only agreements found were not fully executed.

Altamonte Springs Miniatures Exhibit:

Mr. Epps advised that the agreement between the Historical Society of Altamonte Springs and Seminole County is to be presented to the BCC as a consent agenda item at the June 23rd, 2009 commission meeting. Mr. Epps requested dates to have the exhibit on display at the Museum. Jan Jernigan made a **motion** to present the Altamonte Springs Miniatures Exhibit at the Museum of Seminole County History from July 27th through September 28th, 2009. John Bistline seconded the motion. The motion **passed** unanimously. Seminole County Historical Commission June 18, 2009 Minutes

New Business:

Museum Day:

There was discussion about the public schools possibly having a Museum Day to visit the Museum of Seminole County History, the Student Museum, the Sanford Museum and possibly others.

Historical Commission Sub-Committees:

Mr. Epps gave an overview of suggested sub-committees. There was discussion regarding various sub-committees. Mr. Epps requested suggestions for other sub-committees and volunteers to be on the sub-committees. Tentative sub-committees and members for the sub-committees are:

<u>Oral History Sub-Committee</u>; Rosalie Cook, Jan Jernigan, Beverly Mason, Ed L'Heureux, Jon Batman.

<u>Accession Sub-Committee</u>; John Bistline, Paul Zuromski, Alex Dickison, John Richardson.

<u>Exhibits Sub-Committee</u>; Alex Dickison, Rosalie Cook, Paul Zuromski, Jan Jernigan. <u>Education/Docents Sub-Committee</u>; John Bistline.

Programming Sub-Committee; Ed L'Heureux, Don Epps.

Historical Marker Sub-Committee; Beverly Mason, John Bistline, Alex Dickison.

2010 Programming Calendar:

Ms. Nelson clarified that this would tie into the programming sub-committee. The goal is to present a minimum of one special program per month.

Museum Inventory and Data Entry Progress:

Ms. Thompson reported that all of the inventory is now on one software program, Past Perfect. And the County's Risk Management Division has copies of the inventory and the insurance company has placed a value on all objects.

2008 – 2009 Museum Report to the County Manager:

Mr. Epps informed the Committee that the Leisure Services Department is putting together a report including the Museum and its inventory for the County Manager to review and determine how to present to the BCC. Ms. Thompson advised that they will be advising the BCC of accomplishments at the Museum over the past year, new marketing, new programs, volunteers, etc.

Museum Report:

Kim Nelson distributed and reviewed the Museum report.

Society Report:

Karen Jacobs was not able to come. There is no society report.

Other Business:

None.

Robert Hughes made a **motion to adjourn** the meeting. Jan Jernigan seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m.