

SEMINOLE COUNTY PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT DIVISION 1101 EAST FIRST STREET, SANFORD, FLORIDA 32771 (407) 665-7371 PLANDESK@SEMINOLECOUNTYFL.GOV

www.seminolecountyfl.gov

SPECIAL EVENT PERMIT

MUST SUBMIT COMPLETED APPLICATION, FEE AND OTHER REQUIRED DOCUMENTS NO LESS THAN 30 DAYS PRIOR TO AN EVENT NOT REQUIRING BCC APPROVAL OR 90 DAYS PRIOR TO AN EVENT REQUIRING BCC APPROVAL.

|--|

☐ Application
☐ Application fee (\$75 or \$300)
☐ Site plan showing the location(s) of all permanent and/or temporary structures, sign(s) (on and off site – must include size and location), lighting, food/beverage serving locations, music or other amplified noise source(s) fireworks in relation to residential areas, sanitation facilities, trash receptacles, ingress/egress locations, parkin plan, pedestrian circulation plan, and medical facilities, if required by the Public Safety Director.
☐ Owner Authorization form, if any properties being used for the special event, including any off-site signs and/o parking, are not owned by the applicant
☐ License(s) for the serving of food and/or beverages, if applicable
☐ Certificate of Insurance

INFORMATIONAL

Events with more than 200 attendees or spectators require BCC approval.

Events that propose barricading any street(s) will require a permit from the Public Works Division. They can be reached at (407) 665-5678.

DELIVERY METHODS

Completed forms and all the above required attachments may be sent via:

- E-mail: plandesk@seminolecountyfl.gov
- Hand delivery: Seminole County Planning & Development Division, West Wing, Second Floor, Room 2028, 1101
 East First Street, Sanford, Florida 32771
- Mail: Seminole County Planning & Development Division, 1101 East First Street, Sanford, Florida 32771



SPECIAL EVENT PERMIT

APPLICATION TYPE/FEE			
SPECIAL EVENT PERMIT (NOT REQUIRING BCC APPROVAL IF LESS THAN 200 PEOPLE) \$75.00			5.00
SPECIAL EVENT PERMIT (REQUIRING BE	·	\$3	00.00
EVENT INFORMATION			
EVENT NAME:			
LOCATION ADDRESS:			
LOCATION PARCEL ID #:			
DATE(S) & HOURS OF EVENT:		# OF ATTENDEES/	DAY:
ACREAGE OF PROPERTY:	ZONING:	SECURITY: YE	S 🗆 NO
PROPERTY OWNER			
NAME:	COMPANY:		
ADDRESS:			
CITY:	STATE:	ZIP:	
PHONE:	EMAIL:		

AUTHORIZED AGENT			
NAME:	COMPANY:		
ADDRESS:			
CITY:	STATE:	ZIP:	
PHONE:	EMAIL:		
By my signature hereto, I do hereby certify to the best of my knowledge, and understagrounds for denial or reversal of this applicationals also represent that I have the lawful right and SIGNATURE OF OWNER/AUTHORIZED APPL	and that deliberate misre ion and/or revocation of a nd authority to file this app	presentation of such information any approval based upon this applic	will be

(Proof of owner's authorization is required with submittal if signed by agent)

OWNER AUTHORIZATION FORM

An authorized applicant is defined as:

- The property owner of record; or
- An agent of said property owner (power of attorney to represent and bind the property owner must be submitted with the application); or
- Contract purchase (a copy of a fully executed sales contract must be submitted with the application containing a clause or clauses allowing an application to be filed).

I,	, the owner of record for the following descri		the following described	
property (Tax/Parcel ID Nu	mber)		hereby designates	
	to ac	t as my authorized agent fo	r the filing of the attached	
application(s) for:				
☐ Arbor Permit	Construction Revision	☐ Final Engineering	☐Final Plat	
☐ Future Land Use	☐ Lot Split/Reconfiguration	☐Minor Plat	☐ Special Event	
Preliminary Sub. Plan	☐ Site Plan	☐ Special Exception	Rezone	
□Vacate	□Variance	☐Temporary Use	Other (please list):	
OTHER:				
	nts and commitments regarding	the request(s) I certify t	that I have examined the	
_	that all statements and diagrams	_		
	rstand that this application, attach		•	
of Seminole County, Florida		, 1		
•				
Date		Property Owner's Signature		
2		reporty o what a significant		
	- I	Property Owner's Printed Name		
STATE OF FLORIDA				
COUNTY OF				
SWORN TO AND	SUBSCRIBED before me, an o	fficer duly authorized in th	ne State of Florida to take	
	ed			
☐ by means of physical pre	sence or \square online notarization; a	and □ who is personally kr	nown to me or □ who has	
produced	as identification	on, and who executed the	foregoing instrument and	
sworn an oath on this	day of		, 20	
	-	Notary Public		

Seminole County, Florida

Special Event Permit Insurance Requirements

The event sponsor shall be responsible for providing Seminole County an appropriate Certificate of Insurance on a currently issued Acord form. The County reserves the right to change these limits of insurance based on event type, size, location, or risk. Seminole County Risk Management will make the final decision on the amount of insurance required, based on individual events.

PLEASE NOTE: The Certificate of Insurance must list Seminole County, Florida, its officials, officers, and employees as Additional Insured under all types of required insurance (except workers' compensation and professional liability); must evidence a Waiver of Subrogation on all types of required insurance; must provide a 30-day notice of cancellation (10-days for non-payment) to Seminole County if the event is more than 30 days away; and must include the event name and date in the description box.

The Certificate Holder shall read: Seminole County, Florida

1101 E First Street Sanford, FL 32771

Required Insurance:

Occurrence based **General Liability Insurance** in the amount of \$1,000,000 Per Occurrence. If there is food sales or consumption at the event, each vendor (an entity retaining profits from their sales) must have a minimum of \$1,000,000 Products/Completed Operations coverage.

If automobiles are used as part of the event, **Automobile Liability** Insurance in the amount of \$1,000,000 Per Occurrence is required covering <u>Any Auto</u> or all <u>Owned</u>, <u>Hired</u>, and Non-Owned Autos.

If there is the sale or consumption of alcoholic beverages at the event, **Liquor Liability** Insurance with a minimum limit of \$1,000,000 Each Common Cause is required.

If display fireworks, as defined by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), are used, **General Liability Insurance** in the amount of \$3,000,000 Per Occurrence is required by both the event organizer and the licensed entity responsible for the storage, transportation, and use of the display fireworks. The licensed entity shall also provide proof of statutory **Workers' Compensation** insurance with a minimum \$1,000,000 employer's liability coverage, proof of current ATF licensing applicable to the display fireworks, and a copy of the lead technician/operator's pyrotechnics certification or license (may be from any state in the U.S.).

Display of fireworks using ATF-defined "display fireworks" shall require the applicable bond per Florida Statutes.

Page **1** of **2** Version: 05/04/2023

If articles pyrotechnic or consumer fireworks, as defined by ATF, are used, **General Liability and Workers' Compensation Insurance** is required of the entity responsible for the storage, transportation, and use of the articles pyrotechnic or consumer fireworks and may be required of the event organizer. Specific insurance requirements will depend on exposure factors, such as whether the event is indoor or outdoor, the size of the event area, expected attendance, and quantity of fireworks, among other factors. Proof of current ATF licensing applicable to the to the articles pyrotechnic, if they are not exempt, and a copy of the lead technician/operator's pyrotechnics certification or license (may be from any state in the U.S.) must be provided.

Additional insurance requirements or increased coverage limits may apply if the event involves rides, aircraft, drones, or if, in the view of the County, there is additional exposure not anticipated by these minimum requirements. The Hold Harmless Agreement on the application must be signed and individual vendors will also be required to sign a Hold Harmless Agreement and secure and evidence insurance. The event sponsor is responsible to ensure each vendor complies with this requirement.

Page **2** of **2** Version: 05/04/2023



Authority:

The Fire Marshal is authorized by Florida Statutes and the Florida Fire Prevention Code to ensure fire and life safety for the public. The scope includes, but is not limited to, the regulation and control of special events such as outdoor events (1.1.1(10)).

Standby and Fire Watch Personnel:

The AHJ shall have the authority to require standby fire personnel or an approved fire watch when potentially hazardous conditions or a reduction in a life safety feature exist due to the type of performance, display, exhibit, occupancy, contest, or activity; an impairment to a fire protection feature; or the number of persons present (1.7.17.1).

The cost of standby fire personnel shall be at no cost to the AHJ (1.7.17.2.1).

Permits and Approvals:

The AHJ shall be authorized to establish and issue permits. Applications for permits shall be made to the AHJ and accompanied by such data as required by the AHJ and fees as required by the jurisdiction. The permit issued shall continue only for the period designated on the permit (1.12).

The AHJ shall have the authority to require an inspection prior to the issuance of a permit. Any addition or alteration of approved plans or specifications shall be approved in advance by the AHJ, as evidenced by the issuance of a new or amended permit.

Definitions:

Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ) – AN organization, office, or individual responsible for enforcing the requirements of a code or standard, or for approving equipment, materials, an installation, or a procedure.

Fire Watch – The assignment of a person or persons to an area for the express purpose of notifying the fire department, the building occupants, or both of an emergency; preventing a fire from occurring; extinguishing small fires; or protecting the public from fire or life safety dangers.

Permit - A document issued by the AHJ for the purpose of authorizing performance of a specified activity.



Special Outdoor Events, Carnivals, and Fairs

The AHJ shall be permitted to regulate all outdoor events such as carnivals and fairs as it pertains to access for emergency vehicles; access to fire protection equipment; placement of stands, concession booths, and exhibits and the control of hazardous conditions dangerous to life and property (10.14.2).

Life Safety Floor Plans:

Floor plans shall be submitted for the performance of a life safety evaluation, confirming compliance with the applicable requirements of the Florida Fire Prevention Code (10.14.3.4.3).

- Location and Size of all proposed tent(s).
- Location of all fire department appliances (i.e. fire hydrants, fire department connection).
- Delineation of all proposed fence/barricade lines.
- Exit locations and the associated exit widths for verification of proper egress capacity from event location.
- Location of all required fire extinguishers throughout event.
- Location of any proposed stages/platforms.
- Location of proposed internal combustion power sources (i.e. generators) verifying proper isolation from public.
- Established fire department roads to verify access on site for emergency services.

Standby Fire Personnel:

• Standby Fire Personnel shall be provided where required by the AHJ (10.14.5).



Portable Fire Extinguishers:

• A minimum of one portable fire extinguisher shall be provided for each concession stand where required by the AHJ.

Cooking Equipment:

- The AHJ shall have the authority to prohibit any or all open flames, candles, and open, recreational, and cooking fires or other sources of ignition, or establish special regulations on the use of any form of fire or smoking material where circumstances make such conditions hazardous.
- Cooking equipment used in fixed, mobile, or temporary concessions, such as trucks, buses, trailers, pavilions, tents, or any form of roofed enclosure, shall comply with NFPA96 or this chapter unless otherwise exempted by the AHJ in accordance with 1.3.2 of NFPA 96.

Internal Combustion Power Sources:

- Fuel tanks shall be of adequate capacity to permit uninterrupted operation during normal operating hours.
- Refueling shall be conducted only when not in use.
- Internal combustion power sources shall be isolated from contact with the public by either physical guards, fencing, or an enclosure.
- A minimum of one portable fire extinguisher with a rating of not less than 2-A:10-B:C shall be provided where internal combustion power sources are present.

Pyrotechnics – Fire Works:

 A separate permit and review will be required for the display of fireworks. During such permit review, verification of compliance with the applicable NFPA standards will be established.

Tents:

• A separate permit and review will be required for the construction, location, protection and maintenance of tents except for those under 900 square feet (F.S.633.202 (17)).



- Tents shall be provided with a sufficient number of exits and exit widths for proper verification of egress capacity.
- Tent stakes adjacent to any means of egress from any tent open to the public shall be railed off, capped, or covered so as not to present a hazard to the public.
- Tents shall be permitted only on a temporary basis.
- All tent fabric shall meet the flame propagation performance criteria contained in Test Method 2 of NFPA 701, Standard Methods of Fire Tests for Flame Propagation of Textiles and Films.
- One of the following shall serve as evidence that the tent fabric materials have the
 required flame propagation performance: (1) The AHJ shall require a certificate or
 other evidence of acceptance by an organization acceptable to the AHJ. (2) The AHJ
 shall require a report of tests made by other inspection authorities or organizations
 acceptable to the AHJ.
- The placement of tents relative to other structures shall be at the discretion of the AHJ, with consideration given to occupancy, use, opening, exposure, and other similar factors.
- The finished ground level enclosed by any tent, and the finished ground level for a reasonable distance, but for not less than 10ft outside of such a tent, shall be cleared of all flammable or combustible material or vegetation that is not used for necessary support equipment. The clearing work shall be accomplished to the satisfaction of the AHJ prior to the erection of such a tent. The premises shall be kept free from such flammable or combustible materials during the period for which the premises are used by the public.
- Smoking shall not be permitted in any tent. Plainly visible signs shall be posted that read: NO SMOKING.
- Portable fire extinguishing equipment of approved types shall be furnished and maintained in tents in such quantity and in such locations as directed by the AHJ.
- Generators and other internal combustion power sources shall be separated from temporary membrane structures and tents by a minimum of 5ft and shall be protected from contact by fencing, enclosure, or other approved means.



- Cooking under a tent or canopy will be allowed if the following conditions are met:
 - Mobile or temporary cooking shall not take place within tents occupied by the public. *Only vendors are allowed under the tent/canopy
 - Concession stands utilized for cooking shall have a minimum of 10ft of clearance on two sides and shall not be located within 10ft of amusement rides or devices.
 - A barricade shall be provided between all cooking equipment and the general public. * Public may approach the opposite side of the tent or canopy from where the cooking equipment is to purchase items.
 - The tent or canopy has a current flame propagation performance treatment certificate.
 - The tent/canopy must be open; no sides will be allowed.
 - o Only commercial listed cooking appliances are allowed to be used.
 - Mobile or temporary cooking operations that utilize wood or charcoals shall be provided on floors of noncombustible construction that extend (3 ft.) in all directions from the appliance.
- <u>LP Gas Cylinders</u> shall be secured in an upright position to prevent tipping over.

After Hour Inspection/Standby Fees:

- Fire Inspection and/or Standby:
 - Weekend (including Friday) and Holidays \$40.00 per hour (4) hour minimum (in addition to applicable permit/inspection fees)
 - Weekday (excluding Friday) \$40.00 per hour (2) hour minimum (in addition to applicable permit/inspection fees.)
- EMS/Rescue Unit Standby:
 - EMS/Rescue Unit Standby Fees vary based on # of units, personnel and hours required.
 - ~ Florida Fire Prevention Code, 5th Edition NFPA 1 and NFPA 101, 2015 Edition ~